If I have to double the threads per dent in my rigid heddle, do I need two heddles?

This post has 4 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 2
sandyheddle wrote
on 11 Nov 2012 3:20 PM

I am a newbie, and now totally confused! It was recommended to me that I use my 3/5 cotton at two threads per dent in an 8 dent heddle. Do I start with four threads per slot, and then move two the the adjacent two holes? Or should I buy a second 8 dent reed (I own an 8, a 10, and a 12 dent reed) so that I have one thread in ach hole and slot?

Help!!!!

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 33
jacroyce wrote
on 14 Nov 2012 12:17 PM

Hi 

I understand your confusion! I'll try to simplify.

If the 'generic' recommendation for the fiber is 2 threads-per-dent in an 8 dent reed, what they really mean is 1 thread-per-dent in a 16 dent reed—or, rather, 16 ends per inch. If you DON"T have a rigid heddle loom, you can evenly spread the number out in whatever reed you have, because each end will go through its OWN heddle on the way to the reed from the back beam.

With a rigid heddle loom, the reed dent is also the heddle, so you don't get this flexibility. If you want each of the 16 ends to work individually, you need a 16-dent reed. [You could sley this fiber at 2 ends per dents in an 8-dent reed for a cool basket-weave effect. Then each group of 2 threads works together as one.]

Anyhow: I would also recommend that you change your warping approach (although someone is BOUND to get crabby at me about this). There is no need to sley 2 ends through each slot and then go back and cut the ends and re-sley one of those ends into a hole. If you measure the warp in advance, just cut all the ends and sley each thread into its slot or hole as you go along, tie-on, wind-up, and GO. I warp from front-to-back, but this also works from back-to-front.

Hope this helps.

Jac

Jac Royce

Not Ranked
Posts 2
sandyheddle wrote
on 14 Nov 2012 6:13 PM