Reed not staying taught while using the slot on the bottom

This post has 3 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 2
on 28 Nov 2012 5:56 PM

I apologize if I don't use the correct terms as I am very new to weaving. I recently purchased a stand for my loom an am having a problem getting the tension adjusted enough to keep the reed in place while it is in the down slot and when I run the shuttle through it all goes very crooked. I am able to weave and the scarf looks fabulous so far but it really is agrivating. I had no problem at all when I held the loom against a table and on my lap so I'm thinking it's the frame.

I would be happy to provide any information you need in order to diagnose this. I just don't know all the terms so please be patient with this new but eager weaver.

Thank you!!

Molly

Not Ranked
Posts 1
francesblo wrote
on 29 Nov 2012 2:58 PM

Molly - it sounds like you're working with a rigid heddle loom.  When you have the reed in the down slot, if it won't stay in, then your tension is too loose.  You need to increase the tension (probably your loom has a ratchet that helps you tighten the tension).  This will give you a better shed - the area you put the shuttle through. 

Had the same problem when I was starting out (not that long ago).

Hope this helps.  For lots of help, check out the weaving forums (including rigid heddle forums) on Ravelry.com.  Good luck!

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 72
Lynn Tedder wrote
on 29 Nov 2012 6:36 PM

Hi Molly,

If you are weaving on a rigid heddle loom, are your problems with slack (soft or droopy) warps just in the slot threads, the ones that are on top when you place the heddle in the down position and form the bottom of the shed when the heddle is up)? It sounds like it. If so, the problem is that your tension is loose only in the slot threads, not in the whole warp.