White on White handtowels

This post has 20 Replies | 8 Followers
Top 150 Contributor
Posts 8
Yvonne K wrote
on 3 Oct 2010 3:39 AM

I have been weaving for 30 years. Some time ago I wove handtowels in natural cotton, using 2/20's and 8/2's cotton, and an overshot pattern from Davidson's book of 4 shaft patterns. I have decided to re-visit this design, this time using cottolin and cotton chenille. I have "sampled" one towel from the warp, and I'm very pleased with the result. The towel is thick and looks and feels luxurious, so I have repaired my threading errors (oops!) and am continuing on, with the addition of a floating selvedge. I have decided to finish the towels with a fringe, as the chenille contracted considerably in the weft, leaving my cottolin hems looking frilly. I hate that!

The pattern is Batchelor's Fancy, from Davidsons chapter on Squares with Borders. (note that the photo in the book shows the cloth at 90 degrees) I have woven the top border as written, then a centre block of 11 inches, followed by the border pattern for the middle of the towel, another 11 inches centre block, and another border repeat to finish the towel. 

Top 50 Contributor
Posts 19
toomany wrote
on 3 Oct 2010 4:39 AM

what a good idea for yarns, looks luscious!

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 111
on 4 Oct 2010 7:04 AM

Hi Yvonne,

Your towels are beautiful. They must be so absorbant and fell lucious to the hand.

One thing you can do to avoid a floating selvage is to thread 1234 or 3412 or any other variations of the twill with the four shafts at each edge.

Thanks for sharing your photos.

Rita

Top 100 Contributor
Posts 9
lunasaki wrote
on 4 Oct 2010 10:36 AM

The towels are gorgeous.  Makes me want to pet one.  What a great idea.  It looks so luxurious.